Pubs In Athlone, Heading Into Roscommon, Pt 7

My final exploration of Pubs in Athlone found me walking out the old Tuam Rd & crossing the County Boundary into Roscommon – even when Athlone Town Busses cover this area.

There were a selection of premises – with some now gone – & I enjoyed this closing leg of my quest.

36 Monahan’s, Old Galway Rd

Being on the Connacht side of town I’ve not been in this bar before. Quite a large premises inside with a varied selection of whiskey. 1st pub I’ve come across a Waterford Whisky in. Had to order it! Turns out it’s a Lakefield 1.1. Bit of a young & fresh nose on this one. Soft, smooth & easy. Bit of a sherried appeal on the finish. Also noticed the old baseball bat shaped Michael Collins bottle too. Nice!

Ward’s, Old Galway Rd

Ward’s Bar used to sit on the crest of a small hill with a large car park around it. It’s long gone now & a new housing estate sits in it’s place. Never did get round to visiting Ward’s when it was open.

The Grove, Old Galway Rd

Another Athlone bar that suffered from a fire. There was a bookies & an off-licence that shared the same building & I did frequent the latter now & then. All are closed at present with no word yet on a rebuild.

37 Shine’s, Old Galway Rd

When I entered Shine’s on a lazy Bank Holiday afternoon I did wonder why the bar was so packed. There was horse racing on the large screens & punters regularly went in & out to place bets in the next door bookies. Clearly supports a great trade. The usual big brands selection was on offer. Went for a Teachers. A reliable sweet peater.

38 Athlone Springs Hotel, Monksland

I’m now solidly in County Roscommon within the Monksland area. Pat McDonagh of SuperMac’s fame owns the Athlone Springs Hotel. The Brasserie serves as the casual dining & bar area. You’re shown to your seat – there is no sitting at the bar area. There’s a decent array of spirits. Not all are on the menu & it’s hard to see what’s behind the bar depending where you’re seated. Being near Cinco De Mayo when I visited I opted for a tequila. They had the newly redesigned Olmeca Reposado & I noticed it was down to 35% ABV from the previous 38% offering. Doesn’t appear to have diminished the earthy agave appeal & signature peppery spice taste however.

39 The Mill Bar, Tuam Rd

This is the last pub on the West side of town that’s accessible by the Athlone bus service. It’s an attractive looking building set in an old mill & still retains some of the old architecture inside. The offerings were the usual big brands – but I did spot a La Chica Blanco Tequila I’d not tried before. Certainly pleased my palate & stood up well against the reposado version I’d previously enjoyed. I quickly finished the drink to rush outside & catch my bus home!

Sláinte

Leave a comment