Pubs In Athlone, Town Centre, Part 3

Continuing my quest to visit every bar in Athlone with a further selection of establishments in the Town Centre.

12 The Piano Bar, Dublingate St

The Piano Bar is really a Night Club with loud banging music if you’re into that kind of thing. I’ve ended up here usually after works socials & recall being served an almost undrinkable Smethwick’s. I was then told by others to stick to bottled beers or spirits to avoid disappointment. I stuck to Crested whiskey on my next subsequent visit with no ill effect.

13 Brazen Monkey, Church St

Hadn’t been in this bar since the days it was the popular 41’s Bar & then The Malthouse which used to regularly hold meetings of the Athlone Beer Club. Inside hasn’t changed all that much although did notice a lessoning of the variety of drinks for sale. Went for a Goslings Dark Rum just for the variety. Do enjoy a tot of rum now & then. Quite a sweet dark offering with a hint of spice on the rear.

The Prince Bar, Church St

At present this bar is hosting folks fleeing conflict. I did enjoy a combination whiskey tasting & film showing here when Irishman Whiskey hosted the Irishman film featuring Robert De Niro. Thoroughly enjoyed both versions!

14 Peddler Mac’s, Church St

Used to be a late night bar & disco I ventured into now & then. As recently opened Peddler Mac’s it’s recreating an old world style of snug. As usual I sat myself at the bar & scanned the shelves for something different. An unusual bottle took my eye & after some confusion as whether it was for sale or not a glass was eventually poured. Turns out Shabo XO 8 Year Old Brandy is a Ukranian brand. Rich tasting with engaging woody notes. Bit of tannic spice on the rear. Just the kind of drink that excites me! There’s a good selection of other spirits behind the bar too!

Harvey’s Bar, Lloyd’s Lane

This bar has easily been closed for a decade. Their last Facebook post was 2013. Have a vague memory of being in it once. A pity to see this property lay idle & slowly decay.

15 Gertie Browne, Custume Place

Very snug like inside & a popular spot for eating too. Large array of whiskey to tempt & spotted the Dingle core release I’d not had before. Quite a light & fruity offering. Easy yet rich palate if slightly youthful on the end. Long lasting finish. Gerties appears to be under new ownership since I last visited.

16 The Dead Centre, Custume Place

I have to confess a bit of bias towards this establishment. I’ve been coming here for over 2 decades to enjoy the fine views over the River Shannon from the bright & airy windows & drinks terrace. Back then it was River S. When that closed it then became a popular restaurant before subsequently opening as Dead Centre. I know the owner from my Athlone Beer Club days. Despite being a brewery offering a never ending array of new brews to tempt you in it also has a decent spirits range & something you don’t find in many bars – a beer barrel aged whiskey named after itself. The Dead Centre Whiskey is a collaboration with Lough Ree Distillery just up river & at present there are 3 different versions of these limited release premium whiskeys behind the bar. I must admit to having a few of them when I visit!

17 The Brasserie Quayside Bar, Radisson Hotel, Northgate St

Another drinking spot that takes full advantage of views across the Shannon is the bar in Radisson Hotel. They do great meals too & is a regular spot. They offer a decent array of whiskey with the occasional craft beer. I’m impressed by a selection of whiskey flights they offer – one including a tasting of 3 locally based operations – Kilbeggan, Tullamore & Egan’s. On the day I went with Egan’s 10 Year Old Whiskey. This local blender & bottler have resurrected a multi-generational business & their 10yo offers a lovely rich bourbon cask maturation topped off with sweet notes from sherry cask finishing. Nice!

Sláinte

Leave a comment