Musings On The Re-turn Deposit Return Scheme Via The Garden Brewery, Uvala House Sour, 3.5% & Valovi Florida Weisse Pink Guava Stawberry & Lime, 6.9%

The Re-turn Deposit Return Scheme has been in action for a few months now.

From what I can see people are taking to it. I’ve encountered queues waiting to use the machines, kids picking up litter to get some credit to spend, sports clubs collecting for funds – which all seems positive to me.

Yet the distractors, dinosaurs & deadweights are still out there with their moaning & groaning about it’s implementation.

Sadly some of these voices emanate from Irish Beer.

Rather than engage with the positives of the scheme & encourage it’s use – they snipe negativity from the sidelines.

I expect any company I purchase from to have a positive attitude towards reducing waste & increasing recycling rates – if Irish Beer isn’t willing to demonstrate that I’m happy to pick up beers from a Croatian company – available in my local petrol station shop – that judging from the plethora of labels on the side of their cans seem willing to embrace recycling.

And Irish Beer is moaning about re-labelling?

It’s my opinion companies are more worried about their profits than showing willing to engage with Re-turn – a not-for-profit company attempting to reduce waste & recycle more.

But with beer it’s all about the taste – so I poured a couple of glasses.

Uvala House Sour, 3.5%

A pale yellow colour with a decent head. Fresh fruity & tart aromas. Clean, citrusy & fresh palate with a dashing of dry tartness on the rear. Reminds me more of gooseberries rather than pineapple – but a very nice drinker!

Valovi Florida Weisse Pink Guava Strawberry & Lime, 6.9%

This one has a cloudy orange appearance. Much heavier aroma, strawberry, mango, touch of citrus & juicy tropical fruits. Rich palate feel, crowded with fruits. Gentle tart on the rear to counteract the sweetness. Doesn’t feel like 6.9%. Very entertaining.

Thoughts

Really enjoyed these beers. Sour is a style I’m partial to & Garden Brewery certainly deliver gorgeous examples of this genre. It’s an added bonus I can get my deposit returned too.

If a Croatian Brewery can get it together – why can’t Irish ones do similar?

Sláinte

Re-turn website here.

Garden Brewery website here.

Leave a comment